Home > News > UTRGV Student Media wins 27 state awards
NewsOn Campus

UTRGV Student Media wins 27 state awards


Jesus Sanchez

UT Rio Grande Valley’s student newspaper, magazine, radio and TV stations netted 27 awards at the 107th annual Texas Intercollegiate Press Association Convention held March 31 through April 1 in Dallas.

Colleges and universities from across Texas gathered in the Sheraton Dallas Hotel to compete in numerous on-site contests and attend workshops. TIPA is the nation’s oldest and largest student press association.

More than 500 students and advisers representing 46 colleges and universities attended the convention.

Competition categories included news writing, public relations writing, television announcing, feature photography, magazine design and radio announcing, among others.

In the on-site contests, The Rider garnered four awards. Photographer Michelle Espinoza received second place in feature photography; Cartoonist Clarissa Martinez, third place in editorial cartoon; Reporter Monica Gudiño, honorable mention in Spanish news writing; and Editor-in-Chief Jesus Sanchez, honorable mention in print news writing.

UTRGV-TV Assistant Station Manager Steven Cavazos earned second place in the on-site live video news competition; Reporter Atalia Lara, third place in TV news writing; Reporter Jazzelle Ortiz, third place in TV advertising; Reporter Cassandra Torres, honorable mention in radio announcing (Spanish); and Station Manager Orlando Vargas, honorable mention in TV announcing.

Pulse magazine Graphic Design Intern Melissa Alatorre won second place in the on-site magazine design competition and Editor-in-Chief Betzaida Rivera received honorable mention in PR crisis management.

In a collaborative effort, Pulse magazine Photographer Gustavo Huerta and Rider Photographer Gabriel Mata captured honorable mention in the on-site 2-person photo essay competition.

In the previously published and broadcast categories of the competition, works from UTRGV and its legacy institutions, UT Brownsville and UT Pan American, won 15 awards.

UTRGV-TV was awarded second place for TV Best Newscast among Division 2 schools.

Cavazos received first place in TV News Non-Feature for his video story on the red tide at South Padre Island.

Former Social Media Director Vanessa Mares and former Reporter Jennifer Galvan shared second place in TV Sports Feature Story. Vargas garnered third place in Television Audition Tape.

UTRGV-TV News Director Patty Hinojosa, UTRGV Radio News Director Mark Lopez, Contributor Greg Treviño and Contributor Alfredo Zepeda received honorable mention for TV Spot Commercial/PSA. Hinojosa, Lopez and Contributor Jessica Ortiz shared third place for Radio Spot Commercial/PSA.

Former the Pan American Design Editor Francisco Rodriguez was awarded second place in the newspaper illustration category. Former Pan American photographer Michael Medina received first place in news photo.

In the Spanish Writing division, former Collegian Spanish Editor Michelle N. García received first place for her article “Ciudad comenzará a aceptar solicitudes para la comisión” and third place for “Mejorando el tratamiento para el cáncer de la próstata.”

Sanchez, Gudiño and Reporter Andrea Torres shared third place in in-depth reporting for an article headlined “Professor: States can’t turn away refugees.”

Rider Sports Editor Nathaniel Mata earned an honorable mention for his headline “Rockin’ by the hardwood” in the headline competition.

Former Panorama Contributing Artist Veronica Cortez received third place in General Magazine Cover Design. Omar Garcia Jr., former Panorama contributing photographer, garnered first place in the General Magazine Feature Photo competition.

The Panorama graphic design section earned an honorable mention in General Magazine Overall Design.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *